January 30, 2006

  • Oh Dennis...

    This is a short article I stumbled across today as I was making the rounds on the internet papers I peruse on a daily basis:


    Dennis Rodman was shocked, then indignant, after he was voted off the British TV reality show "Celebrity Big Brother" on Wednesday.

    The former NBA star, 44, spent the last three weeks sharing a house with other celebrities, including former Baywatch star Traci Bingham. Despite entertaining viewers, Rodman's popularity dropped when he verbally attacked fellow contestant Chantelle Hougton.


    After Rodman said goodbye to each of the housemates and left, he marched straight to the studio for his exit interview.

    "This is a game, this a show ... just because I've been evicted, I'm still a star, I'm still famous. I don't give a damn what you guys think of me, I'm a star. I'm here to stay."

    That's the Rodman we know and love.


    Now, I have a lot I could say about this news piece.  One, it is a sad commentary on Dennis that he is clinging to a very fleeting fame and is indignant about it.  Does it strike anyone else as sad that if at some point in your life you have to say "I'm a star, I'm here to stay."  Usually people who are really famous (whatever that means) don't have to say they are a star.  Tomorrow though I could write a blog entry on how I think I am star and maybe some of you would believe me, but probably not because, again, those who are truly famous would not have to make the case that they are. 

    I watched Dennis play basketball in the late 80's for the Detroit Pistons, he was a hustle player who was one of the best rebounders I have ever seen.  Then I watched him play for the Chicago Bulls in the mid-90's and again, help a team win championships.  Now I watch him on MTV, and the E channel struggling with they years of addiction to drugs and alcohol.  Sad, really sad.  I hope he finds something that fills the hole that is obviously in his heart and soul.  JVD

Comments (1)

  • That is pretty sad. Sounds like he is struggling with some serious self confidence issues, having to reassure himself that he is still a "star." Please hold me accountable if I ever start declaring myself a star!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment